Art for Music (Violin Fundraiser)

So, I painted a violin over Winter Break for the CHS Orchestra fundraiser. It’s been on display for the past few weeks in the window of the Ash Lawn Opera ticket office, right across the street from my Dad’s office. Apparently he can see it from his window while he works, and sent some photos of the view to me.

I spent several days sanding, priming, and taking apart the violin. I remembered how good it is to keep art tactile– to really handle your work. I think I spend so much time with paper that I often forget the touch, the grasp, the feel of running my fingers down a curve of wood. Or the contrast of materials: like the hammered metal pieces on Jennifer Mildonian’s violin.

Here’s the link to all the violins. To see the back side, just roll your mouse over the image. 

 

My violin on display

My violin on display

 

 

Closer View

Closer View

 

And here are some of my own photographs:

 

Detail

Detail

 

Detail 2

Detail 2

0 Responses to “Art for Music (Violin Fundraiser)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


