Summerfeast

2638295411_8aed7695b0

"Bosui / spring onions" by Plutone on Flickr

I’ve been cooking a lot lately. The dorm-kitchen situation at Kenyon College is abysmal, so summers are my time to indulge in real recipes, food experiments, and fresh produce feasts. The past two summers I’ve worked in farms and gardens, so I’ve been lucky to have access to fresh food– it takes real effort to screw up a meal when the vegetables are just minutes out of the ground. 

My boss invested in a fancy ice cream/gelato maker, so my first culinary luxury was vanilla ice cream. According to my well-loved copy of The Joy of Cooking, ice cream can be made from a syrup base or a custard base– the former is known as Philadelphia style, and the latter is French style. I made the ice cream from a custard base, which turned out… how do you say… delicious. I would have taken pictures, but, um, I ate it instead.

Also recently on the menu has been vegetarian chili, savory and sweet crepes, strawberry ice cream, sweet potato fries, and everything involving spring onions. 

There are few things more satisfying than having a job like this

IMG_1197

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…which produces good eats.

Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


