End of the Exacompta

Once upon a time there was a girl who decided to use an Exacompta sketchbook as a journal.

She wrapped it with a blue rubber band that originally held a bunch of asparagus, tucked some liberty stamps inside the cover, and set off. Over the next few months, she wrote a poem with her sister, added an ID label to the front cover, and test-printed her own hand-carved stamps. Postcards from a friend in Vanuatu began to accumulate inside the back cover. She tested all kinds of pens, and a great number of inks, inside its pages.

In short, she beat it up, bit it, scribbled it to death.

Some Selections from recent months

(click to view larger)

IMG_0004IMG_0003

Clearly, I don’t use fixative in my journal.

IMG_0006IMG_0002Alimenti watercolorIMG_0008

Latter half reads:

I think I’ll finish by pasting in all the rejects from the roll of film out at Holly Tree. Because of course, they’re memories too.

IMG_0007

On to the next book!

4 Responses to “End of the Exacompta”


  1. 1 Mausumi July 11, 2009 at 6:29 am

    so so so pretty!!

  2. 2 Zoe July 12, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Terrific journal entries, and a wonderful look at your blog. It looks as if the sketchbook can or will hold up.

    Thanks for stopping by mine and commenting on the Exacompta.

  3. 3 chlorofluoro July 13, 2009 at 2:49 am

    I came over here from the jr__nal comm – I love this! I really like the stamps too.

    I also stalked the rest of your blog – I really enjoyed it! I recently read omnivore’s dilemma so it was cool seeing your pics of polyface. I also lived in cville for a few years (went to uva). /done being creepy

  4. 4 Cole July 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    That’s totally not creepy! Being from Charlottesville has made me more connections in other parts of the country– apparently all my professors (at Kenyon, in Ohio) went to UVA, which is handy. Thanks for taking a look around 🙂


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


