New Tools!

New Tools

I cashed some paychecks yesterday, so I decided to purchase a set of water-soluble color tools. Little did I know how overwhelmed I would be by the choices.. so I ended up holding off my purchase until I could read some reviews online. Instead, I bought a few individual items to try them out.

From left to right: Kuretake water brush, a Derwent watersoluble Graphitone in 8B, 3 Derwent watercolour pencils, 2  Derwent Aquatones, and a pencil that isn’t shown in this photo but is included below.

Derwent Watercolour Pencils

I was deciding between Derwent, Prismacolor, and Faber Castell watercolour pencils. And then I saw Derwent’s ink-tense pencils, and some watercolour crayons, and decided to opt out of the decision. The Derwent pencils were the only ones available individually, which is why they came home with me. I bought a light color (Turquoise Blue), a bright color (Magenta), and a somewhat dark color (Bottle Green)– just to test a range out.

Derwent Aquatones

Kuretake Water Brush - Medium

I really like the water brush technology, though I don’t want to give up my brush roll for the sake of convenience.

Derwent Graphitone - 8B

I don’t know how I feel about the graphitones. I need to play around more with them. Here’s a test that I did to try the 8B out:

Koh-I-Noor Hardmuth Triograph 1830 pencil

Koh-I-Noor Hardmuth Triograph 1830 pencil

I’m totally into this pencil. It’s huge, but not childish. The triangle-shape reminds me of carpenter’s pencils, which I fell in love with this summer while working construction on an apartment (the pencils are angles either flat or triangular so that they don’t roll off a roof). PencilTalk tells me that it weighs 11.2 grams. And, like the Pencil Talk review, I keep noticing the attractive wood finish. It feels expensive, like a real wood stain, which is something I was most struck by in the process of whittling my own pen a few months ago. This pencil also requires sharpening by knife, which I find super-therapeutic (too much information?]

(using all tools except the triograph)

1 Response to “New Tools!”


  1. 1 Zoe July 24, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Left a comment on watercolours, but it was here I intended to post.

    Enjoy all those new tools.


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


