Good Hair

I am SO excited for this documentary.

Discussion about hair seems to be following me lately, from this post on RMJ’s blog (Deeply Problematic) to a wonderful conversation I had with a friend who is undergoing chemo and has been bald for a few years now. Hair is one of those things whose importance most people underestimate– and by “most people,” I mean people with “good hair.” And by “good hair” I mean “straight, shiny, blonde.”

Some of you may be familiar with my own hair excursions, including “the summer of the shaved head,” as I fondly refer to it. Perhaps that’s worth its own post, though…

2 Responses to “Good Hair”


  1. 1 aron ranen August 6, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Please take a moment to check out my documentary film BLACK HAIR

    It is free at youtube. 6 parts including an update from London, England.

    It explores the Korean Take-over of the Black Beauty Supply and Hair biz..

    Kinda like Madame C.J. Walker in Reverse….a tragic comedy.

    I am not a hater, I am a motivator.

    Plus I am a White guy who stumbled upon this, and felt it was so wrong I had to make a film about it.

    Can it be taken back?

    Link


  1. 1 Screen Time « The Orchard Trackback on August 7, 2009 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • It's a good thing the poverty-focused affordable housing architect panelist and I made a soul connection with our @MyRhodia pads 🖋 1 week ago
  • "If we got rid of HUD today, I don't think there would be significant changes in housing markets" ARE YOU SERIOUS? 1 week ago
  • "The housing market functions no differently than any other market" WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT 1 week ago
  • Tfw a libertarian capitalist yuppie man ruins a panel not only with his lies about the housing market but also with constant interrupting. 1 week ago

