An Inky Return

I returned home to two packages. The first was an order from Jerry’s Artarama, on which I will provide a side note:

IMG_2029

SIDE NOTE: I would much rather purchase art supplies from my local art store, because it’s dusty and trendy and it’s fun to get lost in there, but there’s no way I can afford to pay $33.00 for a block of nice watercolor paper, much less two blocks. So, my tactic is to purchase small and open stock items from them, and then I keep an eye for sales on art supply websites.

TANGENT TO SIDE NOTE: So, that’s one [more] reason to get rich: you have the power to funnel your money in good places, instead of being forced to feed corporations.

The other package was pretty much the antithesis to an internet order. That is, a super-generous gift from a fellow member over at the Fountain Pen Network, who had some ink samples and was looking to pass them on. I was expecting 4 or 5 ink samples, so let’s just pretend I didn’t make a cartoony eye-bulging face when I opened up the box and found twenty full samples of ink, none of which I’ve tried before.

Also generously included were twelve outstanding vintage nibs for dip pens. I’ve been using cheapo Speedball nibs to do my ink reviews (another financial compromise), so I got a little glow-y when I saw these. Almost all of them are flexible– the Joseph Gillott’s Public Pen has the most flex, I would say.

Okay, yeah, on to the sexy photos:

Dip Nibs3

Assorted Nibs

I love the Congressional’s cross-shaped vent hole, and the simplicity of the Joseph Gillott Public Pen. In fact, I just love the design of these in general.

Dip Nibs2

Nib Testing

I have clearly not mastered the art of flex nibs. But, now I have an excuse to practice 🙂

Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • RT @rgay: There are clearly no circumstances under which black lives matter in the justice system. Each acquittal makes this clear. #Philan1 week ago
  • I use brackets a *lot* in early drafts. Also m-dashes, semicolons, and meta rants in the margins. 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimesbooks: Tracy K. Smith, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, is the new Poet Laureate, the Library of Congress announced https://t.co/D9… 1 week ago
  • I am making a cute art today and I can't show anyone because it's a prezzie 💗🖌 1 week ago

