Florida: A Pictoral

Florida

This page, from my handmade summer sketchbook, pretty much sums up my feelings about Florida tourist areas.

The heat and sand, for the record, are not a good setting to use Caran D’Ache Neocolor II wax pastels. The Neocolor II’s are very good, however, at forcing me to adopt a looser, more playful style. They’ve got such an interesting texture, as seen in the poolside sketches below:

IMG_0005IMG_0002IMG_0004 IMG_0003

I also kept a pictoral journal:

Pictoral

Click to see full size and read about my cartrip crush

And of course, I did some watercoloring:

IMG_0016

Florida is nice, but I’m glad to have traveled back north so that I can be back in the South.

3 Responses to “Florida: A Pictoral”


  1. 1 inknform August 17, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    yep…I don`t think I’ve ever adjusted to the wave of tourists that come to Florida, and I`ve lived here for like 25 years. Nothing like trying to get a seat at your favorite pub along the beach only to find that there are no seats because the spring breakers have decided to buy a glass of water and camp at that table for the next 8 hours.

    But other than that…I think Florida is one of the better states to live in. Except during hurricane season, because then Home Dept is just not as fun to shop at 🙂

  2. 2 HONG KONG WILLIE August 18, 2009 at 4:52 am

    A place is a state of mind,it is where ever you are that life is good. Life is like a candle, it how you burn it. Hong Kong Willie

  3. 3 blogturtle August 18, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    nice. especially like the watercolor.


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • It's a good thing the poverty-focused affordable housing architect panelist and I made a soul connection with our @MyRhodia pads 🖋 1 week ago
  • "If we got rid of HUD today, I don't think there would be significant changes in housing markets" ARE YOU SERIOUS? 1 week ago
  • "The housing market functions no differently than any other market" WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT 1 week ago
  • Tfw a libertarian capitalist yuppie man ruins a panel not only with his lies about the housing market but also with constant interrupting. 1 week ago

