Paired: Neoart Pastels and Flexible Nibs

I’ve always felt that chalk pastels were a bit classier, I suppose. Maybe it’s because they feel less like crayons. They also allow a wider variation in texture and style– I’ve seen pastel paintings that look like they were done with oils, and others that utilize the a rougher “pastel-y” texture. And yes, oil pastels tend to be used more in the crafting and DIY world, particularly in textiles and art journals.

But it’s good for me. The same way that watercolors allow me to experiment with abstraction and accident, pastels are encouraging me to get a little messy.

I wanted to include some text on these pieces, and the only way I could think of doing that (besides Sharpies) was to use India ink with a dip nib. In a fortuitous coincidence, I’ve just received some beautiful nibs from a generous stranger in the mail!

I used Caran D’ache’s Neoart watersoluble pastels for the background (can you tell I only own two colors?), and then went back in with some Neocolor II’s. The Neocolor II’s are also wax pastels, but they’re oil-based, and I discovered that not only are they difficult to write over, but they dry to a waxy sheen which is much less pleasant than the Neoart pastels. I also have to give credit to The Blog Formerly Known As The Blue Cottage, for giving me the idea of scratching into the dried pastel work in order to give it more texture. These were all done in my handbound summer sketchbook, on Arches hot press watercolor paper.

The Hand

Details (click to view larger)

Hand  Detail 1Hand Detail2

Sunshine

Details (click to view larger)

Sunshine Detail1Sunshine Detail 2
1 Response to “Paired: Neoart Pastels and Flexible Nibs”


  1. 1 severnyproductions August 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    a beautiful peice


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • RT @rgay: There are clearly no circumstances under which black lives matter in the justice system. Each acquittal makes this clear. #Philan1 week ago
  • I use brackets a *lot* in early drafts. Also m-dashes, semicolons, and meta rants in the margins. 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimesbooks: Tracy K. Smith, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, is the new Poet Laureate, the Library of Congress announced https://t.co/D9… 1 week ago
  • I am making a cute art today and I can't show anyone because it's a prezzie 💗🖌 1 week ago

