Review: Quo Vadis Planner – Equology Basic

Planner review The past few years I’ve been reusing old notebooks as DIY planners– which was great, actually, because I could determine the format and size  (and color scheme) of everything. But now that I’ve used those up, I’ve been in need of a more slender academic planner.

A fellow pen&paper blogger offered up a version of the Quo Vadis Equology planner for me to use, but she had reviewed the version with the 60lb paper, which tends not to stand up to fountain pens. I ordered the same thing with 90lb paper, in the “Scholar” format. I prefer the streamlined look of the “Visual” layout, but for some strange reason Visual doesn’t include Saturday and Sunday. Lame.

It’s a slim little book, inconspicuous but not boring. I would prefer a cover without the mottled texture, but that’s just personal preference. I believe it’s also available for purchase with special covers.

Recycled paper

So, the selling point for the Equology is that it’s made from recycled paper– but interestingly, the note inside the cover says “recyclable” –as in, can be recycled. Pretty much any paper can be recycled, so I’m not sure that “able to be recycled” is a real selling point…

First page text

These are the specs. I may not have mentioned this before, but I have a thing for fonts and typefaces. And basically, I’m a big fan of the typeface in the Equology planners.

Full page detail

Here’s the full page. There’s a good amount of space for each day, a small corner for highlights and notes. Again, the arrangement of titles and typefaces is really appealing.

Day closeup

A closeup of one day.

Text on page detail 2

Ah, my favorite part. The paper takes fountain pens beautifully! It’s not glossy, like Rhodia or Clairefontaine, but I wouldn’t want that anyways because then it would take too long to dry. With this paper I can use my fountain pens even for quick notes, then just close it up and stuff it in my bag. There’s no bleed-through, even with wet writers.

Side Corner View Tabs

Another handy quality is the tear-off corner tabs, to be able to flip easily to my current week. I think the ribbon-bookmark method would get annoying in such a utilitarian notebook, so this is a really effective method.

2 Responses to “Review: Quo Vadis Planner – Equology Basic”


  1. 1 Christine October 3, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Where did you buy this planner?! I’ve been looking everywhere for the Basic planner line – they don’t have a PVC cover!! PLEASE reply; I insist on buying 100% recycled without a PVC cover so this is the one I want!


  1. 1 Juniper, the Planner Formerly Known As Equology Basic « The Orchard Trackback on April 12, 2010 at 1:16 am

Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • RT @rgay: There are clearly no circumstances under which black lives matter in the justice system. Each acquittal makes this clear. #Philan1 week ago
  • I use brackets a *lot* in early drafts. Also m-dashes, semicolons, and meta rants in the margins. 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimesbooks: Tracy K. Smith, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, is the new Poet Laureate, the Library of Congress announced https://t.co/D9… 1 week ago
  • I am making a cute art today and I can't show anyone because it's a prezzie 💗🖌 1 week ago

