Blog Talk (Some Recommendations)

Part of why I blog, even as somebody who generally fights for analog over digital, is because it can open doors to a kind of community. So, I wanted to talk up some blogs that I’ve enjoyed lately!

Darkly Wise, Rudely Great is the blog of philosopher, author, and commentator D.A. Young. He has some good things to say about a technological world, and I like the emphasis that he places on his real/family life in conjunction with his profession.

Leigh Reyes. What more can I say? Totally indulgent artsy-pen goodness, plus fantastic videos of nib action (sounds dirty?)

Drawing With A Squirrel is the blog of “Gentian,” whose delicate watercolors and drawings are some serious eye candy. Her portraits and still lifes verge on the edge of abstraction, but they definitely reflect a controlled drawerly discipline. Plus, she has some excellent art supply reviews.

2 Responses to “Blog Talk (Some Recommendations)”


  1. 1 TAO May 18, 2010 at 2:43 am

    Although I’ve not yet read the first blog you recommend (but now will) I can’t agree more about the other two. I “know” both Leigh and Gentian and they are tow super people.

    But even better they are both so incredible talented, articulate, and interesting. Leigh is incredibly talented with her calligraphy and other mixed media work. So good that I keep every note and letter from her since it’s a mini piece of art. I’ve framed a work she sent me and it hangs on my wall where I can gaze on it.

    Gentian is just so insanely talented that words can’t do her justice. She also does calligraphy but her work is varied and never fails to capture me.

    Just felt like raving for a bit. Fanboy I guess.

  2. 2 Cole May 24, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I totally agree– One of the best things about starting a blog is the sense of community you get with other artists. I like it a lot better than artists’ forums, because we each have our own distinctive style– whereas on forums, I feel like the art tends to begin to look the same…


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • This morning I'd like to give a shout out to every POC who's left a business review on Yelp about racist or discriminatory treatment. 14 hours ago
  • RT @rgay: There are clearly no circumstances under which black lives matter in the justice system. Each acquittal makes this clear. #Philan1 week ago
  • I use brackets a *lot* in early drafts. Also m-dashes, semicolons, and meta rants in the margins. 1 week ago
  • RT @nytimesbooks: Tracy K. Smith, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, is the new Poet Laureate, the Library of Congress announced https://t.co/D9… 1 week ago

