The Epitome of Self-Absorbed Art

I posted a while back about a drawing project that I was engaged in– a 7-foot tall realistic self-portrait. …In pencil. (Yes, I wore them down to stubs)

This was such a strange final assignment for my drawing class. We (the students) mostly sat around in the studio, twitching slightly from hyperconcentration, and wondering, “what does one do with a larger-than-life self-portrait?” It’s not exactly the typical Mother’s Day gift, but it’s even weirded to have it on your own wall.

So now it’s in storage. But I’m pretty proud of it (except for the face, which I, um, never finished in the chaos of exams) and wanted to share.

This is most of my body, but the full thing was head to toe.

(fun fact: I almost forgot to draw my tattoo until the last minute)

This is the strongest part, I think. That damn rip in my jeans took me HOURS.

Yeahhhh, just look at it.

4 Responses to “The Epitome of Self-Absorbed Art”


  1. 1 TAO June 3, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    It’s a great piece of work. Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Naomi June 6, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I really like your drawing! And, welcome to Boulder – I lived there years ago, and loved it. Many, many wonderful things to be found there! I even took classes in the art department.

  3. 3 Carolyn July 4, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Excellent! I appreciate that the self portrait is strongest at the feet. Feet are SO physical and symbolically carry us through life. Our bodies will perform different roles, our thoughts will be so varied and sometimes fleeting…and, looking back at myself at your age (or what I assume to be your age-ish) I didn’t have a firm “idea” of myself or where I was going, but my feet HAVE carried me along through life…into my 50’s.

  4. 4 Daniel G August 9, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Totally sweet. The hole in your jeans really draws the eye. It’s the strongest part, I think. I need to take some art classes before I graduate…


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


