Details on a Move

I like to make homes wherever I go. I wish I could fulfill the romanticized notion of a wandering poet, a Kerouac-type artist on the road– but the truth is, I don’t always believe in that. And today, in a globalized world, it’s easier to find wanderers than it is to find roots.

(Not to mention, mobility is a privilege of the wealthy. This move across the country has put me in a hard place financially– I even had to leave my art portfolio at home because it was over $100 to ship!)

In any case, I find it easier to be outgoing and adventurous when I also have my safe space: apartment, studio, dorm room, whatever. I worry sometimes that this means that I’m too attached to my things, but don’t think it’s a materialist instinct. My belongings are exactly that: tools to help me belong. The vast majority of the things I packed were cookware, books, and art supplies.

…and, you know, underwear and stuff.

2 Responses to “Details on a Move”


  1. 1 Val June 7, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Hello! This post (and maybe about a dozen others) reminds me of a book bell hooks wrote called Belonging: A Culture of Place. If you’re not already familiar with it, I would totally recommend it. She often writes specifically as a Kentuckian, but also more broadly as a citizen of Appalachia, discussing all matters–politics, economics, culture, community–and examining the intersectionality of race, gender, class. It’s fascinating to say the least.

  2. 2 Cole June 8, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation! I really enjoy bell hooks’ writing, although I don’t think I’ve read that particular book of hers. I’ve seen her speak a few times on that topic though, and she’s quite an excellent woman.


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • It's a good thing the poverty-focused affordable housing architect panelist and I made a soul connection with our @MyRhodia pads 🖋 1 week ago
  • "If we got rid of HUD today, I don't think there would be significant changes in housing markets" ARE YOU SERIOUS? 1 week ago
  • "The housing market functions no differently than any other market" WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT 1 week ago
  • Tfw a libertarian capitalist yuppie man ruins a panel not only with his lies about the housing market but also with constant interrupting. 1 week ago

