Update on the Boulder Wildfire

I don’t know whether you’d call this a “technical update,” exactly…

On Monday morning, I walked out of my apartment to a sky that looked like this:

…which turned out to be a wildfire in Fourmile Canyon, which is– well, really close to where I live.

The Fourmile Canyon fire has since become Colorado’s most destructive fire in state history: it has destroyed about 7,000 acres, including 170(ish) homes, and it has displayed 3500 people. And even after four days, they only have about 20% of the fire contained.

We’re all a little frazzled here in Boulder, but I’m also reminded how lucky we are to be an affluent, tech-savvy community at a time like this. Unlike New Orleans or Haiti, affluent communities like Boulder (which often means affluent white communities) are far more prepared for natural disasters: the vast majority of Boulder residents have wealth in the form of investments (not to mention, all kinds of insurance), which means they are financially resilient in case they do lose their homes in the fire.

Still, they just announced this afternoon that my neighborhood should prepare to evacuate. So, I’m now sitting with my emergency bag packed and I thought I’d take a few minutes to check in here.

2 Responses to “Update on the Boulder Wildfire”


  1. 1 Naomi September 10, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    I hate to think of the destruction going on there. Here, where I live in SoCal, your photo of the sky is becoming an annual summer event. Good luck to you.

  2. 2 Ann September 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    So, I take it things are all right on your end?


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Recent Tweets

  • This morning I'd like to give a shout out to every POC who's left a business review on Yelp about racist or discriminatory treatment. 1 day ago
  • RT @rgay: There are clearly no circumstances under which black lives matter in the justice system. Each acquittal makes this clear. #Philan1 week ago
  • I use brackets a *lot* in early drafts. Also m-dashes, semicolons, and meta rants in the margins. 2 weeks ago
  • RT @nytimesbooks: Tracy K. Smith, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, is the new Poet Laureate, the Library of Congress announced https://t.co/D9… 2 weeks ago

