Dreadlocks

"Nude with Dreadlocks" - Watercolor on Fabriano Artistico CP - 12" x 18"

Good muses make good paintings.

2 Responses to “Dreadlocks”


  1. 1 Naomi December 4, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hi Cole!

    I understand your frustration in getting used to hot press paper – it is so, so smooth, and the lack of tooth makes for a challenge. However, despite that, I find that if I let the colors do what they want, and am willing to accept the fate of whatever happens, I can enjoy the results. It is also a study in patience when using hot press. I wait – and wait – for things to dry. As a result, I get impatient and frustrated.

    I really like Fabriano!

    Sadly, I don’t paint much these days – partly because of work, partly because I am doing photography (which is far more time consuming than I realized) – but I do miss the brush in hand. Photography is fun, gets me out of the house, but is not as satisfying as mushing around ink or color.

    You have a lovely hand with color and composition. Post more pictures!!

    N

  2. 2 Cole December 4, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Naomi– thanks for your kind words! I’ll take your advice when it comes to watercolor; it’ll be fun to embrace the blooming and backruns for once!

    It’s a shame you don’t get a chance to paint much these days! Maybe you should tuck one of those postcard-size blocks of paper into your bag and see if you can paint on the go 🙂


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


