Painting for a Beekeeper

I painted this for a friend’s mother who’s planning to keep bees this year. Watercolor on Arches CP, 12″ x 17″

I’m experimenting with image processing in case I ever want to produce prints. A big dilemma is the texture of the watercolor paper, which shows up in both photographs and scanned images and makes the final image seem much less clean. The tutorials I read recommended the Smart Blur filter in Photoshop, but I’m still getting the hang of it – especially with a painting like this which has little splatters and lots of texture. This one in particular still seems a little dark… back to the ol’ Photoshop I guess..

 

2 Responses to “Painting for a Beekeeper”


  1. 1 lindahalcombfineart January 3, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I like the composition, the colors used and am sure that the painting was appreciated because it is very well done.

  2. 2 Rachel Chick January 19, 2012 at 12:35 am

    Hi! My name is Rachel and I was just doing a google search, looking for a honeybee watercolor print. I’m wondering if you ever sell any of your prints? I think this is beautiful and I’d love a copy of it. My email address is rachelchick(at)gmail(dot)com


Leave a Reply

Art adventures, literary hangovers, rural politics and other songs worth sharing.

Flickr Photos

Recent Tweets


